Violin Concerto in e major (it is also called the Concerto No. 2 for violin and orchestra, as is the second violin Concerto after BWV 1042) was written in 1718, the first publication refers to 1857.


  • solo - violin;
  • orchestra - 2 violins, viola, keyboards.

BWV 1042 by Johann Sebastian Bach is a Concerto based on a three-part Venetian model, albeit with several unusual features, since each part has "not Italian." It is written for violin, strings and keyboards and consists of the following parts:

  1. Allegro.
  2. Adagio.
  3. Allegro assai.

It is believed that the Concerto was written when Bach worked in köthen or when Bach was in Leipzig.